Freeform Knitted Beings

This week I’ve been doing a little bit of experimenting.

There’s been an overwhelming response to the Knittynudo Gerboa idea so while working on that little dude I thought I’d do some knitty-doodling. I don’t knit nearly as much as I used to now, wool, felt, and fibre is taking over my life! I occasionally still collect lovely yarns when I see them, and I’ve been hand-spinning a lot of my own to use in sculpture so I randomly picked up my needles on Sunday night with no idea what I was going to do.

I used to knit quite a few creatures years ago and I built up a good array of stitches for different shapes and finishes. I felt like staying simple and freeform, and being completely free, so in essence I used two chunky yarns to improvise two little creatures – -a bit like the felted flumps, but not quite. 🙂

I knew that I wanted them to have a little flump-like face, so I felted a couple of faces, blending colours and giving them open (and rather curious) looking eyes. The only thing left to do is stitch the faces on!

I need a name for these little creatures. I hope to get them both listed on Etsy by the weekend, so send me your ideas for creature species/names by either commenting here or on Facebook or tweet me!

Speak soon!

Caroline

Knittynudo.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

