A little catch up – what I’ve been up to!

It’s been such a busy month, and I’ve struggled mentally to keep up with the pressures of it all! As a result my immune system has been a bit low, and I ended up sinusitis last week, which felt like the worst face-migraine I could have imagined! I totally sympathise with anyone who gets these often!

Knittynudo brings me so much pleasure and pride, and I am honoured to be an advocate for handmade and eco art. Since starting Knittynudo I’ve made and sold hundreds of creatures (not quite 1000 yet!), written articles for journals and magazines on the holistic benefits of craft and storytelling, sold in galleries across the world, written guest blogs, been featured in Q&As, been asked to run workshops and participate in group activities and more. It’s all just exploded into colour, and my life path has become far more felty and far more crafty than I had anticipated.

Chillin' with some fluorite.

Chillin’ with some fluorite.

At the moment, I have a day job too, as well as writing projects to keep going. My greatest lesson to learn is to not take everything on at once. When I hear of something new to try I’m often nervous, but I think when I’m nervous I sort of dare myself to put a brave face on it and plough through. I get scared of a lot of things, and I’ve learnt that ‘feeling the fear and doing it anyway’ brings me more glowing satisfaction that any other professional achievement. I’ve come a long way since bashfully selling my first creature. I’ve been stressed, nervous, thrilled, overwhelmed, incredulous, excited, awestruck, terrified, anxious, shy, settled, proud… And this is something to be proud of in itself.

One day I would like to get rid of the day job, at least the sort of job I have now, and devote my time to storytelling in whatever capacity suits me. I’m not 100% sure if this will ever necessarily happen, but it could, and that’s all that matters.

Some lovely handspun yarn! I've been felting a lot of this into the sculptures, and I'm amazed at the effects so far! This particular handspun is by Louise from Spin City UK, who has been amazing at helping me to find my inner spindle demon when it came to blending and spinning my own yarn!

Some lovely handspun yarn! I’ve been felting a lot of this into the sculptures, and I’m amazed at the effects so far! This particular handspun is by Louise from Spin City UK, who has been amazing at helping me to find my inner spindle demon when it came to blending and spinning my own yarn!

I’m still on track to making 100 new creatures for the Etsy shop by the beginning of August, that seemed like such a massive challenge when I set it two months ago! I’ve been experimenting with some mixed media sculptures too, and been exploring making some stop-motion animations of the little creatures!

I’ve still accepting creature suggestions too – the next suggested little being I’m concentrating on is the Blue Footed Booby. I’ve already drawn up the plans for this one so I’m looking forward to making him in the next few days.

This guy's name has to be Bob. It just does.

This guy’s name has to be Bob. It just does.

Speak soon!

xxxx

Leave a Reply

