A little bit of Himalayan peace

I’ve been truly exhausted lately. I’ve struggled to keep up, and as a result I’m learning how to be peaceful again.

Sometimes tranquility can be created in the simplest of ideas. I often find solace in lighting a candle in my little salt lamp.

20131210-203206.jpg

Himalayan rock salt is supposed to emit negative ions which counteract the positive ions given off by electrical devices. I’m not sure to what degree this is true, but I feel like it makes a difference. I often feel unable to concentrate when I’m surrounded by lots of plugged in electrical devices so I’m not sure if I’m particularly sensitive. This is why I hand write most of my work before typing, and why I find organic crafting such a freeing method of creativity.

20131210-204514.jpg

This Himalayan lamp was a gift from my brother a few years ago from a fair trade seller, and I’ve since acquired another the same size and three little ones. Even if the main reason why they’re so relaxing is the warm, wholesome glow, I really don’t mind. As soon as it’s lit, I know that I can look after myself.

Leave a Reply

