feel the fear and do it anyway

I’m going to be starting a new day job in a couple of weeks. Two weeks today. Eek!

I’m very, very nervous. It’s a bit of a change job-wise. I currently work in a museum, co-ordinating volunteers, but my new role will be for a large fairtrade charity. I’ll be out of my comfort zone, but I’m a huge supporter of fairtrade and it’s not difficult to be passionate about handmade!

One of these days it would be a dream to be able to sculpt and write fulltime, but at the moment there are just too many reasons to save money. Houses, weddings, planning for a future, it’s a pricey time of life in your late 20s! You never know what’s going to happen in the future.

So at the moment I am definitely feeling the fear. With a new job you never know what to expect – what if it doesn’t match the job description? What if it’s difficult? What if you don’t fit in? I’m going to try and take my time to find my feet.

A wise friend told me to always ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’, and my latest article in OmYoga was on the subject of courage, embracing change, not being afraid to take risks. Having that piece of writing in print reminds me that I should remember my own advice. I’m a wimp when it comes to taking risks. I’m terrified in fact. But I know it’s the wise thing to do.

Living with Courage

Living with Courage

Leave a Reply

