blending and blurring

A Knittynudite sent me this photo last week with the suggestion that it could be a new Knittynudo creature….

The glorious fenkey.

The glorious fenkey.

I posted it on the page asking if anyone oculd find the species, as I’d never seen a regular fennec fox behave like that. A bit of detective work by the lady who sent the picture revealed it’s a photoshop of a snub nosed monek and a fennec fox. So skillful! Here’s the original link: http://carolinebleger.deviantart.com/art/Fenkey-380123563 And I’ve just noticed that her name is Caroline B too! 🙂

I’m desperate to make one of these fenkeys, but it also got me thinking about other possible blends of creatures. I’ve done a few sculptures like this before, like this Llamacorn:

I am larger than the sum of my parts, so I'm told.

I am larger than the sum of my parts, so I’m told.

I imagined this creature as a llama, sheep and leprecorn all tangled up. (The leprecorn bit is his green beard!)

I’m inspired to make more sweet, endearing or zany blends. How about a lion/stag? (I’ve already started work on a dragon-stag, and pictures will follow soon!) Or how about a bird-wasp?

How bright can a bird get?!

How bright can a bird get?!

Is it just me, or do wasps always look angry?

Is it just me, or do wasps always look angry?

I’ve been looking at a lot of pictures of stunning seahorses recently too, so perhaps I could blend an electric seahorse with something completely different in colour and physique. A cat perhaps?

This one is a bit like a ghost seahorse...

This one is a bit like a ghost seahorse…

This ragdoll would make one mean seahorse.

This ragdoll would make one mean seahorse.

I’m open to suggestions from you all too – so please comment on this post and on the facebook page with some blends you’d like to see. I will make the best ones and make them available on etsy!

Can’t wait to hear your ideas…

C.xx
knittynudo.etsy.com

5 responses to “blending and blurring

    • Those are beautiful! I like the green variety best. I think a wasp bird would be a great idea… It’s so much fun working out all the different possibilities! Stripes, different colours, wing-type, a stinger… 😉

Leave a Reply

