thinking BIG

Hi all!

I’m starting to think BIG. I have quite a few of the regular sized creatures ready to make their debut for Knittynudo but I’m tempted to get into building something much bigger….

Some of the new guys.

Some of the new guys.

But what am I thinking of making? When you look around there mostly seems to be a lot of animal replicas around which I do love, adn they’re created with such care and delicacy. Creatures like barn owls and rabbits appear most, as do mice and garden birds.

I’ve been planning a new series of sculptures for Knittynudo that are much larger than others I’ve made. These would be strengthened with wire armatures and take a lot more wool! I hope to be integrating some fairtrade recycled sari silks and ribbons too. The gorgeous colours might give you an idea of the sort of fantastical creatures I’m going to create!

Beautiful Tibetan Ribbons from Darn Good Yarn. My absolute favourite. http://store.darngoodyarn.com/product/silk-sari-strip-ribbon-yarn

Beautiful Tibetan Ribbons from Darn Good Yarn. My absolute favourite. http://store.darngoodyarn.com/product/silk-sari-strip-ribbon-yarn

Sneak peaks will come soon, and I’ll be hopefully showing my steps in the process.

Speak soon,
knittynudo.etsy.com
xx

2 responses to “thinking BIG

  1. I love the idea of even bigger monsters! Have you ever considered doing any movie inspired creations?

    • I try to create entirely new beings… But I think I’m sometimes quite inspired by Miyazaki films. So many dark and beautiful creatures!

Leave a Reply

