the importance of balance

I’m learning more and more how important it is to rest and listen to your body. I worked incredibly hard in 2012, and didn’t really take a break from all the crafting, sculpting, working and writing I was scheduled to do.

It’s sometimes hard to decide whether it’s worth the stress and pain, but ultimately I think if you feel the need to express yourself then you should do it when can. Last year I thought I was going to explode with all the stories and shapes and textures rolling around in my head and I needed to get them out there and make them real. I did, and I sculptured hundreds of creatures, wrote stories, poetry, a play, and learnt a new skill or two along the way.

My favourite story-keeper, from InBlue on Etsy

My favourite story-keeper, from InBlue on Etsy

2013 though is a different beast. When 1st January came by I wasn’t sure what to make of this year. I felt like I’d achieved a lot last year and I really didn’t think I’d be able to top it without sacrificing sleep and food. Slowly, I’ve started to realise that we don’t need to maintain our thunderous momentum constantly. I think we’re made to work in bursts and then take a step back and look at what we’ve done. You don’t have to stop completely, you just have to slow it down, make every action just a little bit more graceful, and be conscious of each movement, each activity, and live in the moment. I often struggle with guilt, in that I always feel I could be doing more. Right now, I’m throwing away the guilt!

My newly discovered zen-like stare is relatively similar to the confused look of a wild Bombadilious.

My newly discovered zen-like stare is relatively similar to the confused look of a wild Bombadilious.

I’ve been sculpting when I feel the most inspired to. Writing when I’ve felt the warmth of a story growing. Just thinking when my body has felt at peace. It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to feel this balanced. And I think until days suddenly become longer and we can fit more in with ease, I’m going to maintain this balance as long as I can.

Buffins. The epitome of well-balanced living.

Buffins. The epitome of well-balanced living.

knittynudo.etsy.com

2 responses to “the importance of balance

  1. I do believe you need to get out the creative energy while you can. You never know when something might get in the way. But Balance IS very important just for your health and well being! Keep up the good work and enjoy it! We love to see your new creations!

Leave a Reply

