Making Smells. In a good way! (and a simple ‘how to’ for needle felting)

The past week or two has seen a new set of curiosities appear for Knittynudo, and I’m very excited! They’ve been in the back of my head for quite a while, and it was just a matter of collecting the materials! Take a look: http://www.etsy.com/shop/Knittynudo?ref=si_shop

This little sleep fairy is the first in a range of aromatherapy creatures. I wanted to keep the Knittynudo amigurumi style yet incorporate the aromatherapy and herbal side of myself! Unlike regular needle felted sculptures, the sleep fairy is hollow, and is filled with fragrant French lavender.

After getting it everywhere (I think I’m going to find lavender all over my house from now on!) I fill a little needle felted cup shape with the lavender and make sure it’s sealed tightly. Then, I add on the features around the outside.
It’s important to not felt too densely, to keep a sort of ‘plushy’ feeling. It also needs to be able to release the scent sufficiently!

This little blue creature above is the next Knittynudo aromatherapy curiosity. I think I must have been inspired by Miyozaki here, as he really reminds me of the woodland spirits in ‘Princess Mononoke’. Like those little white spirits, I imagine the flump slowly tumbling across the woodland floor. 🙂 Flump will be appearing in the next day or so in the shop.

Hopefully soon there’ll be lots more of the little creatures about! There are endless possibilities really, and I’ve already ordered the chamomile and rose to further the collection. I know quite a bit about the folkloric meanings of herbs, and I’m also on creating some curios stuffed with mugwort for protection, yarrow for courage… and more!

Speak soon!
XX
http://www.etsy.com/shop/Knittynudo?ref=si_shop

6 responses to “Making Smells. In a good way! (and a simple ‘how to’ for needle felting)

  1. Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic

    but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same

    blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    • Oh blimey, I’m not the best person to ask! Do I have a captcha thing? If I do I didn’t set it up myself. Have you tried in the settings option, the widgets section? Good luck!

  2. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your blog? My website is in the very same area of interest as
    yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!

  3. Hi there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

